Reviews

“Ever see a dog when they look guilty of something? In his latest book Hy Conrad explores the world of dogs living in the human world. His creative stories will have even the harshest dog critic laughing.”
(Dogs Rule, Cats Drool, February 2013)

“A gem of a book which will keep you laughing with its whimsical musings by a panel of eleven dogs who weigh in on some of their favorite subjects and pet peeves. Any dog lover will love this book, including comedian Steve Martin whose accolade is quoted on the front cover. The Wild and Crazy Guy Himself summed it up perfectly: ‘I laughed, my dog howled.'”
(Dog Tipper, January 2013)

“The pages of this book are filled with howlingly funny stories and examples of dog behavior — most of us have seen from our own canines and frankly never understood.  Now, here for the first time … well, to mix metaphors, the cat is out of the bag!  This makes a great holiday gift for the dog lovers in your life.”
(Adopted Mom to Chazz the Dog, December 2012)

“To say this book is funny is a bit of an understatement.  Quite frankly, it’s ingenious and the graphic design is a joy to behold.  If you are looking for the perfect gift for your favorite dog lover — or a great book to add to your humor collection, treat yourself to “Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know.”  Both you and your dog will be glad you did!”
(Create with Joy, December 2012)

“Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is wildly entertaining, often insightful, and easily the funniest book I’ve read in years.”
(Deborah Adams, December 2012)

“This hilarious book is, of course, told from the dog’s point of view.  Dogs of different and breeds tell us how they feel and think. If you own any dogs, this look is a must for you.  If you don’t own any dogs, but love to laugh, you would enjoy reading it.  Even if you hate dog,s I really feel that this book would entertain you!”
(Bella Online, November 2012)

“Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know” — it’s part trivia, part information, part humor, and all pretty dang cute.”
(Kittanning, PA Leader Times)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is a book like no other — a charming little book filled with heart-warming tales about dogs and the sometimes zany, sometimes nerve-wracking owners in their lives!”
(Terra Little Blogzine, November 2012)

“I don’t know what made me pick this book up.  Books written in the voice of a dog? Not my usual reading.  And, then I opening the book and read the first story.  I can’t remember when I’ve laughed so hard.  I was hooked!  If there is a dog lover on your Christmas list, this book would be a great gift — just make sure you also buy one for yourself, and a few to give away.”
(My Life.  One Story at a Time, November 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is just hilarious.  Absolutely hilarious.  I was laughing so hard at some points that my kids were running over to find out what was so funny.”
(Proud Book Nerd, November 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is a great coffee table book, great for a gift, great for the holidays, and just a lot of fun all the way around  Be forewarned … if you dare take it to work to show your colleagues, I guarantee you’ll never see it again!”
(Review the Book, November 2012)

“Beautifully designed, in full color, Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know makes a great gift for any dog lover, or yourself if you need a pick-me-up.  If you are going to buy it as a gift, save yourself the trouble and get two copies.  Trust me, you’ll want to keep one.”
(Dawg Business, November 2012)

“You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and you’ll probably never look at your own dogs the same way again.”
(Rescued Insanity, November 2012)

“Each of the dogs have their own personality, life and hilarious story to tell — which means I am occasionally that crazy lady on the train laughing out loud at her book.  I’d definitely suggest picking this one up!”
(A Blog from the Dog House, October 2012)

“This book was totally my type of humor and I loved it.  If you’re looking for a fun, easy-to-read book with great illustrations, check out Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know.
(Dog Foster Mom, October 2012)

“A book you can dip into in the waiting room for entertainment, follow only one dog’s story from beginning to end, or read cover to cover.  Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is fun for dog owners, kids, those who love dogs, and anyone in between looking for a good chuckle.”
(Savvy Verse and Wit, October 2012)

“This is a great book for any dog-lover, or even dog-admirer.  It will broaden your thoughts to what goes on in your dog’s mind and give yo a nice laugh at the same time.”
(All Things Dog Blog, October 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know surprised me with its cleverness and its thoughtful encouragement to look at life from a dog’s point of view.  I enjoyed spending time with these dogs.  And the underlying message that dogs have a viewpoint different from ours that’s worth trying to understand might be the single most important thing any dog person can learn.”
(Something Wagging This Way Comes, October 2012)

“It is a rare combination.  Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is both entertaining and educational. This would make a great gift for a new dog owner but it is also a fun read for the experienced dog owner.  There are lessons here for all of us and with wit and humor we are led to looking at a dog’s behavior from a different point of view.”
(DogBreedStore, October 2012)

“These essays are flat-out funny.  This book is wonderfully written, with each dog having his/her own particular writing style.  Be prepared for some funny, wise and touching answers.  Loved it!”
(Mockingbird Hill Cottage, October 2012)

“A clever and humorous book for those who own pets and even for those who don’t but who want to understand why so many people adore pets, especially dogs.”
(Before Its News, October 2012)

“It is really obvious that the writers not only love dogs, but understand dogs and what they’re up against having to live with humans.  If you have a new dog owner in your life — one that’s trying to figure out how to speak dog — this would be a good gift to give them.”
(Dogs in Need of Space, October 2012)

“These dogs are breaking rank from their fellow canines and divulging the deepest of secrets to their guardians.  And I am so glad they did! Hilarious!  A lighthearted fun read that at times is laugh-out-loud funny.”
(A Heartbeat at My Feet, October 2012)

“What a cute concept!  I absolutely loved it and want a sequel!  This is the perfect gift book for the friend you have that is a dog person.”
(Kritters Ramblings, October 2012)

“It’s a funny read to be sure, but there are some touching moments, too.  All in all it’s a great book for anyone who has ever loved a dog and wondered why they do the things they do.”
(4 the Love Animals, October 2012)

“This book had be giggling and laughing hysterically from page one.  It’s a great gook to read when you’re a bit down, if it’s a cloudy day or if you just want to have a laugh.  I would recommend this book to everyone.  I know that I’m going to have a hard time getting my copy back from my mom because she likes it so much!”
(Turning the Pages, September 2012)

“I absolutely loved and adore this book.  Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is a wonderful book that I would highly recommend to everyone.  It is fun, entertaining, and laugh out loud funny.  It’ll make you laugh and smile throughout the book and, if you’re like me, it’ll make you want to go out and adopt a dog.”
(Toothy Books, September 2012)

“This was the book for me.  It’s fun and funny, touching and cute.  This book grabs the reader by the heart — an absolute must read for dog lovers everywhere.”
(The Wormhole, September 2012)

“This is a funny, funny book.  The authors have managed to capture the ‘essence’ of what it means to be a dog and why we are better humans for having them around.
(Library of Clean Reads, September 2012)

“The Steve Martin quote on the front says it all, ‘I laughed so hard, I howled.’  Hilarious, funny, irreverent and just plain cute, this book is perfect for that dog lover in your life.”
(The Brunette Librarian, September 2012)

“This book is FUN!  Howling funny.  With 11 dogs with distinctive personalities true to breed confessing all in ROFLOL monologues.  It’s UPLIFTING.  There is no way your mood can stay in the dumps after reading even a single one of the over 100 messages.”
(JoyStory, September 2012)

“This book is jam packed with dog facts right from the dog; some of the stories are humorous and will have you rolling on the floor laughing and others will have you saying “Is that so?” And scratching your head in wonder.”
(4 the Love of Books, September 2012)

“This is the kind of book that you should have at your desk so when you are having a bad day you can just read one entry and begin laughing. Then read another and another. Just don’t get caught by the boss. If you are a dog lover or even think they are cute, you have to get this book.”
(A Book Lover’s Library, September 2012)

“The authors did a remarkable job giving each dog a distinct voice.  But hiding quietly beneath the surface, you’ll also find brilliant examination of our relationship to dogs.”
(Luxury Reading, September 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is a hilarious tell-all from eleven dogs who can no longer hold back their thoughts.  Every turn of the page brings you to a new story or situation that every dog and dog owner can relate to.”
(Book Cover Justice, September 2012)

“I loved this book!  I read it as I was recovering from abdominal surgery and it was the perfect light-hearted read.  The only thing was sometimes it made me laugh out loud suddenly, which, well, kinda hurt! LOL”
(Colletta’s Kitchen Sink, September 2012)

“A simple premise leads to a hysterical book.  I’m a sucker for a good dog book and this one was hilarious!”
(A Patchwork of Books, September 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know takes from you puppy-hood to elder dogs’ lives and provides insight into the inner workings of their mysterious minds.  This is highly enjoyable read, a fun book to keep on your coffee table or to give as a gift to any dog lover you know.  I give it five woofs.”
(Teacher Writer, September 2012)

“This was a funny book that will have you laughing one minute and saying amen the next.  You will find your dog in between these pages and wonder how the author got a hold of your canine friend!”
(Giveaway Lady, September 2012)

“This book will certainly tickle your funny bone, and is a delight to read whether or not you are owned by dogs.  I plan on giving this book to all my dog-loving friends.”
(WV Stitcher, September 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is just about perfect for dog people, whether casual owners, enthusiastic canine cultists or dog professionals of every variety.  Buy if for a friend with a new dog, a chagrined host whose eager mutt adorned your new dress with muddy paws, the harried dog walker in your building or your much snarled-at mailman.”
(The Beachcomber, September 2012)

“I loved this book.  I loved all the different dogs and their personalities.  I couldn’t get enough of it.  I didn’t want to put the book down.  If you’re a dog lover, you’re definitely going to live this book.”
(Sam the Bookaholic, September 2012)

“This book is adorable, cute, and funny as heck.  It puts a smile on my face every time I see the cover of it, and no matter what I’m doing, just opening any page of the book and reading the story makes the day go a bit faster.  By the end of the book, you’re bound to fall in love with one, if not more, of the eleven canines that took part in sharing their stories.”
(MN Girl in LA, September 2012)

“Shockingly funny, Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is a book that isn’t afraid to take risks.  There were times I was mentally saying to myself ‘You did not just say that!’
(Suddenly Books, September 2012)

“A perfect book to leave out for others to pick up and appreciate.  Better watch out, some may fall deeply in love with it and want to take it home.  Only a humorless dolt would not find this book funny.”
(Books and Beyond, September 2012)

“I really loved this book and would be hard pressed to pick a favorite dog.  Some selections were hilarious — I was laughing and snorting.  Other selections made me pause and think.  Some were poignant and touching.”
(She Treads Softly, September 2012)

“Let me tell you, I LOVE this book!!  If you are a dog lover, you’ll love this book.  If you’re not a dog lover, you’ll love this book.  Go get one now and get a few more for the dog lovers in your life.  They’ll thank you.”
(I’d Rather Be Reading at the Beach, September 2012)

“The tales are charming and endearing. Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know would make an excellent gift for any occasion.”
(Colloquium, September 2012)

“A warm, funny and entertaining book.”
(The Poodle and Dog Blog, September 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know lets you in on all of those secrets your dog is thinking.  If you are ready for 11 courageous canines to tell all, you will love this book.”
(Book Visions, September 2012)

“This book is even more fun that I thought it would be! I found myself smiling and laughing as I read it.”
(Sweeps4Bloggers, September 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is a cute and funny book designed to entertain.”
(Allison’s Book Bag, September 2012)

“Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know” is just a funny, adorable book.  Honestly, I think this is a perfect book for dog lovers.”
(Carol’s Notebook, September 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is a must-have for dog lovers.  It’s a funny, sweet and charming book.”
(The Bookworm Blog, September 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Knowis everything a book should be.  It is engaging, creative and memorable.  It is both humorous and touching.  If a dog is a part of your life then you must read this book. I highly recommend it.”
(Evie Harris, ReviewTheBook.com, August 2012)

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is a funny, charming, and informative read for any dog parent. You’ll fall in love with the 11 dogs spilling all their secrets, and you’ll come away from it with a better understanding and appreciation of your own silly pup. In the words of Sophie the Cocker Spaniel: ‘Every single one of us is unique, no matter how ordinary.'”
(TailsInc, August 2012)

“How long has it been since you’ve laughed out loud while reading a book? Too long, probably. Treat yourself to this little gem of a book and you’ll be guaranteed to chuckle and snicker and laugh out loud.”
(The Pet Blog, July 2012)

“Loved it. Clever, funny, high-quality design (kudos to the artwork designer and photographer: a real gem), pocket-sized, and nothing short of hilarious.”
(Canis Bonus, July 2012)

“I read this book in a very short amount of time because it was just so stinking funny.  For any dog lover this was a great funny book about what our dogs think about us and how much smarter they are than we often give them credit for.  I would give this five stars….truly one of the best comedy books I have read in a long time.”
(Me-MommyEtc, June 2012)

“LMAO! If you have a dog, have had a dog, or really want a dog, this book is for you.  It’s pure comedy and I definitely recommend it for all ages.”
(3TwentySix.com, June 2012)

“For dog lovers, this book will have you laughing, crying, and cuddling with your favorite four-legged friend”
(Book Nook, May 2012)

“From stories of Sarge being let-go as a drug dog for becoming addicted to Charlie who is always formulating escape plans with his fellow dogs, to Gabby who may become a mother sooner rather than later, to Tinkerbell and her annoyance/love of her humans, the stories and humorous and poignant. For dog lovers, this book will have you laughing, crying, and cuddling with your favorite four-legged friend.”
(Book Nook, May 2012)

“This book is downright cute and clever. A panel of 11 dogs share their insight on a wide variety of topics relating to well, being a dawg.  Think of it as a cheeky, humorous blog for people, written by their pets. I love the fact that this book is both laugh-out-loud entertaining and includes so much valuable information about dogs I have not read in any other book.”
(Goodreads, Debbie Glade, May 2012)

“I laughed so hard, I woke the dog. Seriously! This book is so much fun to read and a perfect gift/read for dog lovers.  You will devour this cute, quick read about eleven adorable dogs. The book is written from the “voice” of the dogs and couldn’t be a more delightful read.  Grade: A+
(BooksInReviews, April 2012)

“It is hilarious and a great gift for anyone sharing their lives with a dog.”
(Bookviews by Alan Caruba, April 2012)

“My thoughts?  ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!!  Yes, I used exclamations points!!!  This quick, little read about eleven dogs, from hippy-dippy to obedience school drop out will have you howling.  This fun read is perfect to leave on your coffee table and it is easy to pick up, read a few pages and then come back to it, sort of like your dogs attention span when food isn’t involved.”
(Bookhounds, April 2012)

“We LOVE this book. Written by 11 dogs to their owners, each dog’s personality shines through on colorful, journal like pages. This is the perfect book for dog lovers of all ages. Even my kids have started asking me to read the book to them. A+ for a fun, beautifully crafted book.”
(Maria’s Space Blog, April 2012)


(Fit as Fido Blog, April 2012)

First off, the book itself is adorable!   I’ve picked it up countless times and read it over and over again, laughing each time.  It would make a great gift for dog lovers too!”
(Hey Lorri Blog, April 2012)

“It was a funny, easy-to-read, laugh-out-loud book that dog owners will enjoy, yet dogs may have a cause for concern as now their secrets are out to us humans!”
(BookPleasures.com, April 2012)

“At times poignant, at times hilarious, this canine tell-all will let even the most experienced dog owners in on the secret world of our best friends.”
(Booklist, March 2012)

“If everyone owned a dog, we would have world peace. If everyone reads this book, they will go and get a dog and we will have taken a big step in the right direction. So this book can save the world. It will definitely change your life.”
(Terrence McNally, Playwright)

“These entertaining authors (have created) 11 lovable characters.”
(Library Journal, February 2012)

Dog lovers will go crazy with this book!!  If you love dogs and enjoy humor, you’ll love “Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know.”  I did.”
(Not Just Nonsense Blog, March 2012)